Montgomery County Woman Wins $30,000 Poker Royale Top Prize

Barbara Pratt - Poker RoyaleEvery weekend, Barbara Pratt goes to Redner’s Warehouse Market to buy Lottery scratch-offs. This past Sunday, her routine stop made her $30,000 richer when she won the top prize on the Poker Royale ticket.

“I’ve been playing the Poker Royale scratch-offs for a while,” said the 60-year-old.  “I purchased three of them and then went home to scratch the tickets.” The second ticket she scratched was the big winner.  “I was in shock so I wasn’t sure I’d really won.  I decided to take the ticket back to Redner’s and asked the clerk to check it,” she explained.

After the clerk confirmed Barbara’s suspicions, she went home, ate dinner and put the ticket in front of the television. That’s where it stayed until she brought it to Lottery Headquarters to claim her prize. “When she showed me the ticket I told her I didn’t believe it,” said Barbara’s boyfriend, Phares, who accompanied her to the Lottery’s claim center.

When asked what she will do with her new-found fortune Barbara replied, “I haven’t had time to think about it.  I’m still in shock.”  Barbara and Phares both agree they are still in disbelief, but they intend to start spending the money by paying some bills.

The winning ticket was purchased at the Redner’s Warehouse Market at 2126 N. Fountain Green Rd. in Bel Air.

Comments are closed.